NCR, nine other areas under GCQ until Jan 31

NCR, nine other areas under GCQ until Jan 31

President Rodrigo Duterte announced that Metro Manila, as well as the areas of Isabela, Santiago City, Batangas, Iloilo City, Tacloban City, Lanao del Sur, Iligan City, Davao City and Davao del Norte, will be placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) for the whole month of January.

The rest of the country will remain under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ), the most relaxed of the four lockdown levels implemented by the government to stem the outbreak.

Further, due to the discovery of a more contagious second COVID-19 strain in the United Kingdom, Duterte also raised the possibility of reimposing a stricter lockdown depending on the severity of the COVID-19 cases.

Read more here.