NCR and other ‘high-risk’ cities to be placed under modified ECQ until May 31

President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the proposal to place Metro Manila, Laguna province, and Cebu City under a modified enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until May 31. Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque made the announcement today.

The movement of people in these areas – which are classified as “high risk” communities by the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) – only allowed residents to leave their homes for provision of necessities and in cases of emergency.

Roque also noted that while industries will be allowed to reopen in a limited capacity under the modified ECQ, the government is still finalizing which industries will be allowed to resume operations.

Read more here.